Our training series for new advocates will be offered five times during 2020. In order to accommodate the most individuals, the sessions rotate between evening and day, and trainings will be offered at both Media and West Chester.

Each of the following training sessions is required.  If you cannot attend portions of the training, please let us know as soon as possible.

  • In addition to the dates below, the training requires several hours of court observation, which must be completed on a Monday or Tuesday morning (9am-12 noon). You will be provided with several dates from which to select.
  • Each class also includes several hours of reading/homework that must be completed in advance of the next training.
  • Participants are permitted only one absence, to be made up in take-home independent study.

Interested advocates should first apply online (add link to the application). Upon receipt of your application, we will reach out to schedule an interview with a member of our team. If you have further questions about the work we do and the role you play as an advocate, please register to attend an information session. If you are accepted into a training class, we will provide written confirmation.

*Please note that completion of training does not guarantee acceptance as a CASA volunteer.

Media: January/ February 2020


The CASA Volunteer Role: Tuesday, January 28, 10:00–1:00


The Well-Being of a Child: Wednesday, January 29, 10:00–1:00


Trauma, Resilience & Communication Skills: Thursday, January 30, 10:00–1:00


Mental Health, Poverty & Professional Communication: Tuesday, February 11, 10:00–1:00


Substance Abuse & Cultural Competence: Wednesday, February 12, 10:00–1:00


Domestic Violence & Cultural Competence: Thursday, February 13, 10:00–1:00


Educational Advocacy, Older Youth, Court Report Writing, Optima Database, Volunteer Panel, and Wrap Up: Friday, February 14, 9:00–3:00


SNOW DATES: 2/17, 10:00–1:00 and 2/21, 10:00–1:00

 

West Chester*: March 2020


The CASA Volunteer Role: Tuesday, March10, 10:00–1:00


The Well-Being of a Child: Wednesday, March 11, 10:00–1:00


Trauma, Resilience & Communication Skills: Thursday, March 12, 10:00–1:00


Mental Health, Poverty & Professional Communication: Tuesday, March 24, 10:00–1:00


Substance Abuse & Cultural Competence: Wednesday, March 25, 10:00–1:00


Domestic Violence & Cultural Competence: Thursday, March 26, 10:00–1:00


Educational Advocacy, Older Youth, Court Report Writing, Optima Database, Volunteer Panel, and Wrap Up: Friday, March 27, 9:00–3:00


 

Media: May 2020


The CASA Volunteer Role: Monday, May 4, 6:00–9:00 PM 


The Well-Being of a Child: Wednesday, May 6, 6:00–9:00 PM


Trauma, Resilience & Communication Skills: Thursday, May 7, 6:00–9:00 PM


Mental Health, Poverty & Professional Communication: Monday, May 18, 6:00–9:00 PM


Substance Abuse & Cultural Competence: Wednesday, May 20, 6:00–9:00 PM


Domestic Violence & Cultural Competence: Thursday, May 21, 6:00–9:00 PM


Educational Advocacy, Older Youth, Court Report Writing, Optima Database, Volunteer Panel, and Wrap Up: Friday, May 22, 9:00–3:00

 

Media: September/October


The CASA Volunteer Role: Monday, September 14, 10:00–1:00


 The Well-Being of a Child: Tuesday, September 15, 10:00–1:00


Trauma, Resilience & Communication Skills: Wednesday, September 16, 10:00–1:00


Mental Health, Poverty & Professional Communication: Monday, September 14, 10:00–1:00


Substance Abuse & Cultural Competence: Tuesday, September 15, 10:00–1:00


Domestic Violence & Cultural Competence: Wednesday, September 16, 10:00–1:00


Educational Advocacy, Older Youth, Court Report Writing, Optima Database, Volunteer Panel, and Wrap Up: Friday, October 2, 9:00–3:00

 

Media: November


The CASA Volunteer Role: Monday, November 2, 6:00–9:00 PM


 The Well-Being of a Child: Wednesday, November 4, 6:00–9:00 PM


Trauma, Resilience & Communication Skills: Thursday, November 5, 6:00–9:00 PM


Mental Health, Poverty & Professional Communication: Thursday, November 5, 6:00–9:00 PM


Substance Abuse & Cultural Competence: Wednesday, November, 18, 6:00–9:00 PM


Domestic Violence & Cultural Competence: Thursday, November 19, 6:00–9:00 PM


Educational Advocacy, Older Youth, Court Report Writing, Optima Database, Volunteer Panel, and Wrap Up: Friday, November 20, 9:00–3:00

 

*West Chester sessions will be held at the Westminster Presbyterian Church 10 W Pleasant Grove Rd, West Chester, PA 19382

  • In addition to the above dates, the training requires several hours of court observation, which must be completed on a Monday or Tuesday morning (9am-12 noon). You will be provided with several dates from which to select.
  • Each class also includes several hours of reading/homework that must be completed in advance of the next training.
  • Participants are permitted only one absence, to be made up in take-home independent study.
  • Please note that completion of training does not guarantee acceptance as a CASA volunteer.

 

Our Volunteers

Learn what it's like to be a CASA volunteer champion from some of your Delaware Valley neighbors and consider filling out an application. You can download a PDF application, but we strongly encourage you to apply online.

Apply Online